The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

I saw “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” tonight and it struck so many chords. I am moved and amazed at how much it resonated with all of my thoughts as of late. I am going through yet another reinvention. What number is this? (About Attaining Me) So many transitions . . .

The quote that left an indelible impression was the following:

“For what it’s worth it’s never too late, or in my case too early, to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit; start whenever you want; you can change or stay the same. There are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it.

I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you are proud of. And if you find that you are not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.”

This transition, as aforementioned, is significantly different than the others. I don’t feel as if I am in survivor mode, searching for strength, and wondering if a safety net would catch me fall. This year, I have the strength. I don’t have the means to make ends meet should I not have a job this month, yet I know everything will work out. I am not scared of the future, because everything happens for a reason. “Challenges-our greatest supporters” and I am grateful for this movie, for the many messages and for the message that truly touched me and the corresponding beautiful images that will remain ingrained in my mind. Remain there as lasting memories that the world offers so much and some of the most beautiful things come from nothing. 

Some other  memorable quotes:

“We are meant to lose the people we love.  How else would we know how important they are to us?”

“Along the way you bump into people who make a dent on your life. Some people get struck by lightning. Some are born to sit by a river. Some have an ear for music. Some are artists. Some swim the English Channel. Some know buttons. Some know Shakespeare. Some are mothers. And some people can dance.”

9 thoughts on “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

  1. I’ve needed to know SOMETHING about this movie other than the raving “it’s SOOOO good” “arguably the best movie of 2008” yadda yadda comments. I think my teenager would get something out of this — if it’d be okay for someone just 14 years old?

    May your reinvention, or, further development, of yourself, be fulfilling and wonderful. Why should we ever stop, eh?

  2. Thank you! It wasn’t even quite meant as a review! Robin- yes, definitely bring your son. I believe the movie is fine for a 14 year old. The only thing I can recall offhand is a scene at a brothel, but nothing is shown. (ps My friend who recommended it to me saw it with his 13 year old.)

  3. Thanks. And, I do realize that your intention was to relay how this movie integrates with your life right now.

    Next weekend’s a 4-day weekend, yeah, and my 14-year old daughter (sorry, not son) will get to pick out some of what we do — I can imagine this is quite different from “Marley and Me,” which, frankly, SPOILER ALERT dog dies, we should skip, anyway. lol

    Redefining oneself is not a bad thing — I’m staying tuned!

  4. i was pleasantly surprised to find out that F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote the short story upon which Benjamin Button (the movie) was based, they mention this in the opening credits

Leave a Reply

